Over Old Mill in North Little Rock
Ronnie Cates from Aerial Concepts spent the day out at T. R. Pugh Memorial Park (or The Old Mill) in N. Little Rock. The Old Mill is a re-creation of an 1880s era water-powered grist mill located in North Little Rock, Arkansas. It was used in the opening scenes of the movie classic Gone With The Wind. In 2010, the site was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The park was built in 1933 by Justin Matthews and named in honor of Thomas R. Pugh, of Portland, Arkansas, who was a close friend and benefactor of Matthews. The architect for the park and the mill was Frank Carmean with artist Dionicio Rodriguez serving as sculptor of the concrete work to simulate wooden, iron, and steel structures.
In present day, due to its picturesque views, the Old Mill serves as the backdrop for weddings and portrait photography.
In 2008, the roof was set on fire, but no permanent damage resulted.